History Facts

The Communities Improvement Association (CIA) officers, at the time of incorporation, were Mr. V.E. Long, President; Mr. Ezekiel Jackson, Vice President; Mr. Conelues Hellum, Recording Secretary; Mr. George Ashley, Financial Secretary; and Mr. Frank James, Treasurer. The Board is comprised of 11 members who were: Mr. Ezekiel Jackson, Mr. John Henry Pierce, Mr. Phillip Jackson, Mrs. Amanda James, Mr. Conelues Hellum, Mr. John Long, Mr. Clifford Long, Mrs. Minnie Duncan, Mrs. Ulia B. Jackson, Mr. Vince Long, and Mr. Oliver Fenderson. The Articles of Incorporation were signed December 19, 1966. We pay great tribute to those who started the work and place their work and their untiring effort in the CIA Hall of Fame. We continue to applaud those who work to make a difference in this community as well as keep the history of Sandtown School alive. Others past presidents that helped blaze the trail were: Rev. William Ashley, Mr. James E. Parker, Mr. Richard Long, Mr. Levi Long, Mr. Victor Long, Mr. David Perry, Mr. Elvis Pettaway, and Mr. Nathaniel Jones. Mr. Maurice Mayes now serves as President.

The CIA was started and then incorporated in the late 1960's in Elmore County. It was set up to serve the communities of Millbrook, Coosada, Elmore, and Deatsville. The Association held its meetings at area churches until it was able in 1976 to lease the Sandtown School property from the Elmore County Board of Education. The organization, since 1976, has leased the property for operation of day-to-day activities. In December of 2009 the CIA, through the bid system of the Elmore County Board of Education, obtained purchase authority of the land and buildings at 3180 Sandtown Road, Millbrook, AL. In 2007 the organization was awarded its 501(c)(3) status and in 2010 the organization was listed on the Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage; a prestigious listing of historic, architectural, and archaeological landmarks which is worthy of both the recognition and preservation. A listing on this register is an honorary designation. As progress continued the CIA established two programs which bring great pride to the association: Kids Journey Program (Summer and Afterschool) and the CIA Distinguished Seniors.

The current Board of Directors and appointment dates are: **3 Year Appointments:** Lewis Myers, Mose Smith, Sandy Myers and Bessie Jones, **2 Year Appointments:** Carolyn Morgan, Richard Long, and Bertha J. Brown, **1 Year Appointments:** Joyce Loyd and Eugene Morgan. **EXECUTIVE BOARD,** President – Maurice Mayes, Vice President – Nathaniel Jones, Treasurer/Finance Secretary – Catherine James, and Recording Secretary – Catherine Parker.

http://alabamamaps.ua.edu/contemporarymaps/alabama/counties/elmore.jpg